Get Involved

volunteerimageCommittees at Temple Emanu-El define our congregation. Our committees are the main vehicle for making our temple a home, a family and a warmth to our traditions. For without these committees, our mission and passion for Judaism would be without fuel. Whether you are a new member, or have been with us for years, we encourage you to develop your Jewish community through involvement in one of our committees. It is a way to reach out to others, it is a way to develop a Jewish support system, it is also a wonderful way to get to know what your fellow congregants and most importantly, it is a way to give meaning and support to what is most important to you about Temple-Emanu-El.

Complete list of committees and their chairs:

Adult Education: Madelynn Micon adulteducation@teesd.org
Plans and coordinates continued learning experiences for members
Advocacy: Barbara Learner and Janice Steinberg  advocacy@teesd.org
Budget and Finance:  financecommittee@teesd.org
Caring Community: Ira Moskowitz caringcom@teesd.org
Comprises all of us and provides support for Temple members in times of need and joy.
Foreseers: Char Sultan foreseers@teesd.org
Offers activities to meet social and spiritual needs of Temple members 55 and older.
Fundraising: Stefani Lenett  fundraising@teesd.org
Plans and runs fundraising activities, including the annual gala.
House & Grounds: Steve Naiman housegrounds@teesd.org
Oversees the maintenance and improvement of the Temple and grounds.
Library: library@teesd.org
Coordinates and maintains the operation of our Temple Library.
Membership: membership@teesd.org
Supports Temple members to integrate into the community and enhance the membership experience
Mental Health Subcommittee: Lisa Goldberg  lisa.goldberg113121@gmail.com
Personnel: Debbie Macdonald personnel_com@teesd.org
Preschool: Lauren Frederick and Leah Steinhardt preschool_com@teesd.org
Supports the Preschool director, staff, parents and students with ongoing programs and activities.
Publicity: publicity@teesd.org
Coordinates efforts to publicize Temple events and activities.
Ritual/Worship: Shelli Stein ritual@teesd.org
Works with the Rabbis to plan, oversee, and refine aspects of ritual practice and religious events.
Safety and Security: Cathi Marx security1@teesd.org
Coordinates/implements security and safety programs, along with local law enforcement, to ensure the security and safety of staff, students and congregants.
Social Action: Lee Loventhal socialaction@teesd.org
Provides the opportunity for hands-on involvement in programs such as the Hunger Project, Storefront Youth Shelter, and Mitzvah of the Month. The committee also donates goods and funds to local, national, and international agencies.
Torah School: Barbara Braasch and Michelle Roth thscom@teesd.org
Supports the Torah School director, staff, parents and students with ongoing programs and activities.
Women of Reform Judaism: Rhonda Schwartz wrj@teesd.org
Provides a supportive connection among women of the congregation with a wide range of events and programs for the WRJ membership as well as support of tikkun olam, social action and educational activities in cooperation with our Temple and congregation at large.
Youth Committee: Rabbi Benj Fried youth@teesd.org
Assists with social activities and fundraising efforts for Chaverim (grades K-2), OYE (grades 3-5), EASY (grades 6-8) and SANETY (grades 9-12).

Click here
to download a setup form for your upcoming event!

Click here to download a calendar request form for a possible event!

Back to top